Update: I’m Alive

Okay.  I’m in a bad habit of updating bits of posts, then failing to post them, then returning to them in a new location where the previous post is outdated.  Part of the reason is that I want to upload pictures and it takes some time and quality connection to do so.  At this point, I’m just going to forge ahead with the posts and update with pictures later.

I’m going to make this post now for a general update, and then make subsequent posts that were written previously.  I’ll include the date and location where the other posts were first written to give you some context.  If I haven’t written a post in a given location, I’ll steal part of a journal entry.  That’s right, I’m keeping a straight up teenage girl style diary on paper.  And you get to read what was never intended for other eyes, albeit curated for the public.  I’m like an ornery teenage girl; DIARY: KEEP OUT.  In reality, much of this journal is filled with mundane facts, lists, directions, and plans that may or may not have come to fruition.

Por ejemplo, here are a few journal entries from Colombia, where we last left off.

9/7 – Bogota, Colombia – Juan Valdez Cafe

Today I depart for Medellin.  Reflecting on a long weekend in Bogota, I took a lot in.  Cutler AKA “James” to the locals put me up in a posh apartment complete with my own room, towel, and hot water.  Yes, please.  It was a total change from the finca.  More of a touristy gringo style weekend.

Friday – adventure de cambio, Zipachira salt min, lunch at Andres, adventure de cambio parte dos.  The Lunch with friends

Saturday – hike monsirate.  Asado

Sunday – Bogota Bike Tour: rock game (Telo?), fruit market, chicha corn drink; salsa lesson: 6 pasos – linea, lado a lado, Colombiano, cruze en frente, cruze abajo (?), tap

Wednesday 9/9 – Medellin, Colombia

I’m trying to “blog” but there are always internet issues.

Fascinating stuff, I know.

Rock game picture

Drew and Cutler picture

The last time I posted, I was in Medellin, but most of the post was focused on Costa Rica.

Since that post, I have been to:

  • Paris, France
  • Budapest, Hungary
  • Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Oban, Scotland
  • London, England

Currently, I am in Malaga, Spain – a pleasant pueblo with a beach, laid back Spanish culture, tapas buenas, and the home of Pablo Picasso.  It’s also a port city on the southern coast of Spain, which I plan to use to my advantage tomorrow as I ferry off to Morocco.  That is, if all goes according to the plan that I concocted 5 minutes ago.

Leave a Reply

